SORP 2018 Webinar Series

Visitor Use Management

Webinar 1: Overview of Interagency Visitor Use Management Council Visitor Capacity and Monitoring Guidebooks

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern 

SORP webinars are free to members and $45 for non-members.  You can become a member online and immediately get the member rate.

DESCRIPTION OF PRESENTATION 

The Interagency Visitor Use Management Council (IVUMC) Visitor Use Management framework (the framework) is a planning process for visitor use management (or recreation management) that can be incorporated into existing agency planning and decision-making processes. It is applicable across a wide spectrum of situations that vary in spatial extent and complexity from site-specific decisions to large-scale, comprehensive management plans. The framework builds on lessons learned from previous frameworks (e.g., Limits of Acceptable Change and the Visitor Experience and Resource Protection Framework) and is shared by the six agencies that are part of the council. The IVUMC is working on drafts of the Visitor Capacity and Monitoring Guidebooks that complement the framework. The Visitor Capacity Guidebook provides specific guidance for identifying and implementing visitor capacity (VUM Framework, element 3 step 10) that can be incorporated into existing agency planning and decision-making processes. The Monitoring Guidebook provides guidance for implementing visitor use monitoring programs (VUM Framework, Element 2, Step 7; Element 3, Step 11; and Element 4, Step 13). Monitoring is an essential part of managing visitor use, as it provides key feedback that managers need to evaluate the success of management actions in achieving desired conditions. The guidebooks will be shared by the six agencies that are part of the council. (For more information on the IVUMC and our related activities, please see our website).

SPEAKERS

Kerri Cahill

Aleksandra Pitt

Rose Verbos